Directors & Management

The Directors of 3D Oil Limited are:

Noel Newell
(Executive Chairman/Managing Director)

Noel Newell has over 25 years experience in the oil and gas industry with 20 years of this time with BHP Billiton and Petrofina. With these companies, he has been technically involved in exploration of areas around the globe, particularly South East Asia, and all major Australian offshore basins. Prior to leaving BHP Billiton in 2002 Noel was Principal Geoscientist working within the Southern Margin Group and primarily responsible for exploration within the Gippsland Basin. Noel has a number of technical publications and has co-authored Best Paper and runner up Best Paper at the Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association conference and Best Paper at the Western Australian Basins Symposium.

Noel is the founder of 3D Oil. Immediately prior to starting 3D Oil Noel was a technical advisor to Nexus Energy Limited and directly involved in their move to explore in the offshore of the Gippsland Basin.

Leo DeMaria
(Non-Executive Director)

Mr Leo DeMaria was appointed as a Non-Executive Director of 3D Oil on 1 October 2014.

Mr DeMaria is a Chartered Accountant and has been working in the FMCG industry for 6 years - initially as a Financial Accountant, then as a Commercial Manager.

He has extensive experience across a multitude of areas within company management. Specifically, his core strengths lie within financial management, mergers and acquisitions, supply chain optimisation and risk management. He has worked within a “high turnover - low margin” FMCG environment with significant focus on the continuous improvement of the supply chain, and maintenance of low cost operations.

Ian Tchacos
(Non-Executive Director)

Ian Tchacos is an oil and gas professional with over 30 years international experience in corporate development and strategy, mergers and acquisitions, petroleum exploration, development and production operations, decision analysis, commercial negotiation, oil and gas marketing and energy finance. He has a proven management track record in a range of international energy company environments.

As Managing Director of Nexus Energy Ian was responsible for this company’s development from an onshore micro cap explorer to an ASX top 200 offshore producer and operator. Ian has had extensive experience in project formation and development in both onshore and offshore environments. He has developed a particular interest in domestic gas and LNG project commercialisation.

Ian holds a batchelor of Mechanical Engineering and a graduate diploma in Chemical Engineering commencing his professional career as petroleum engineer with significant practical experience in oil and gas developments and exploration. Following a strong technical grounding Ian progressed to a series of commercial roles gaining experience in project commercialisation, marketing, business development, corporate strategy and finance.

Ian is currently Executive Chairman of an ASX listed company, Executive Chairman of a non listed Energy company and provides strategic, technical and finance advice to a number of other companies.

Ian also provides oil and gas related professional training on the subjects of economics, investment analysis, commercial negotiation and strategy.

Melanie Leydin
(Company Secretary)

Ms Leydin is a Chartered Accountant and principal in a chartered accounting firm specializing in audit and company secretarial services.

Ms Leydin has 14 years experience in the accounting profession and is a director and company secretary for a number of junior mining and exploration entities listed on the Australian Stock Exchange.

Management Team

Dr David Briguglio
(Exploration Manager)

Acquiring the Flanagan 3D Seismic Survey in December 2014.
Acquiring the Flanagan 3D Seismic Survey in December 2014.